Anne of Green Gables

Cover art for Anne of Green Gables, published by L.C. Page and Company in 1908.

Anne of Green Gables is L.M. Montgomery’s first, most celebrated, and best-known book, first published in June 1908 by L.C. Page and Company (Boston). It is the first of eleven books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Anne Shirley Blythe, followed by Anne of Avonlea (1909), Chronicles of Avonlea (1912), Anne of the Island (1915), Anne’s House of Dreams (1917), Rainbow Valley (1919), Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920), Rilla of Ingleside (1921), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Anne of Ingleside (1939), and The Blythes Are Quoted (2009).

The novel has been adapted numerous times for film, television, and stage, including a 1919 silent film, a 1934 “talkie” film, a 1965 stage musical that has remained a mainstay at the Confederation Centre in Charlottetown, a 1972 BBC Miniseries, a 1985 television miniseries from Sullivan Entertainment that launched a parallel Montgomery universe popularized through several television programs, a recent television adaptation from Toronto’s Breakthrough Productions, and an ongoing television series that is currently in development. This novel has been reprinted in numerous formats and editions, translated into at least thirty languages and abridged several times for younger readers. It has also been republished in the form of critical editions: The Annotated Anne of Green Gables (1997), edited by Wendy E. Barry, Margaret Anne Doody, and Mary E. Doody Jones; a Broadview edition (2004), edited by Cecily Devereux; and a Norton edition (2007), edited by Mary Henley Rubio and Elizabeth Waterston.

This novel has also been the focus of a tremendous amount of scholarship, including book-length studies such as Kindling Spirit: L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables (1993), by Elizabeth Waterston; Looking for Anne: How Lucy Maud Montgomery Dreamed Up a Literary Classic (2008), by Irene Gammel; as well as collections of essays such as 100 Years of Anne with an “e”: The Centennial Study of Anne of Green Gables (2009), edited by Holly Blackford, Anne’s World: A New Century of Anne of Green Gables (2010), edited by Irene Gammel and Benjamin Lefebvre, and Anne around the World: L.M. Montgomery and Her Classic (2013), edited by Jane Ledwell and Jean Mitchell. Scholars who have contributed book chapters and journal articles on this book include Cecily Devereux, Irene Gammel, Helen Hoy, Benjamin Lefebvre, Mary Jeanette Moran, and Laura M. Robinson.


“The good stars met in your horoscope, / Made you of spirit and fire and dew.”—Browning


“To the memory of My Father and Mother.”


1. Mrs. Rachel Lynde Is Surprised

2. Matthew Cuthbert Is Surprised

3. Marilla Cuthbert Is Surprised

4. Morning at Green Gables

5. Anne’s History

6. Marilla Makes Up Her Mind

7. Anne Says Her Prayers

8. Anne’s Bringing-Up Is Begun

9. Mrs. Rachel Lynde Is Properly Horrified

10. Anne’s Apology

11. Anne’s Impressions of Sunday-School

12. A Solemn Vow and Promise

13. The Delights of Anticipation

14. Anne’s Confession

15. A Tempest in the School Teapot

16. Diana Is Invited to Tea with Tragic Results

17. A New Interest in Life

18. Anne to the Rescue

19. A Concert, a Catastrophe, and a Confession

20. A Good Imagination Gone Wrong

21. A New Departure in Flavourings

22. Anne Is Invited Out to Tea

23. Anne Comes to Grief in an Affair of Honour

24. Miss Stacy and Her Pupils Get Up a Concert

25. Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves

26. The Story Club Is Formed

27. Vanity and Vexation of Spirit

28. An Unfortunate Lily Maid

29. An Epoch in Anne’s Life

30. The Queen’s Class Is Organized

31. Where the Brook and River Meet

32. The Pass List Is Out

33. The Hotel Concert

34. A Queen’s Girl

35. The Winter at Queen’s

36. The Glory and the Dream

37. The Reaper Whose Name Is Death

38. The Bend in the Road

Screen Adaptations

Anne of Green Gables (1919 film)

Anne of Green Gables (1934 film)

Anne of Green Gables (1956 television special)

Anne of Green Gables (1958 television special)

Anne of Green Gables (1972 television miniseries)

Akage no An (1979 animated series)

Anne of Green Gables (1985 television miniseries)

Anne of Green Gables: The Animated Series (2000–2001 animated series)

Anne: Journey to Green Gables (2005 animated film)

Anne of Green Gables: A New Beginning (2008 telefilm)

L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables (2016 telefilm)

L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: The Good Stars (2017 telefilm)

Anne (2017 television series)

L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables: Fire and Dew (2017 telefilm)