Anne of the Island

Anne of the Island is L.M. Montgomery’s seventh book, first published in 1915 by Boston publisher L.C. Page and Company. It is the fourth of eleven books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Anne Shirley Blythe, preceded by Anne of Green Gables (1908), Anne of Avonlea (1909), and Chronicles of Avonlea (1912), and followed by Anne’s House of Dreams (1917), Rainbow Valley (1919), Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920), Rilla of Ingleside (1921), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Anne of Ingleside (1939), and The Blythes Are Quoted (2009). It was also preceded by Montgomery’s sixth book, The Golden Road (1913).

The publication of Anne of the Island marked the end of a contract with her first publisher, L.C. Page and Company, that offered Montgomery a much lower royalty rate than what was standard at the time. When attempts to renegotiate the contract went nowhere, Montgomery named the Toronto firm of McClelland, Goodchild, and Stewart her primary publishers and literary agents, and soon placed her next book, The Watchman and Other Poems (1916), with them.


“All precious things discovered late
To those that seek them issue forth
For Love in sequel works with Fate,
And draws the veil from hidden worth.”


“To all the girls all over the world who have ‘wanted more’ about ANNE.”


1. The Shadow of Change

2. Garlands of Autumn

3. Greeting and Farewell

4. April’s Lady

5. Letters from Home

6. In the Park

7. Home Again

8. Anne’s First Proposal

9. An Unwelcome Lover and a Welcome Friend

10. Patty’s Place

11. The Round of Life

12. “Averil’s Atonement”

13. The Way of Transgressors

14. The Summons

15. A Dream Turned Upside Down

16. Adjusted Relationships

17. A Letter from Davy

18. Miss Josephine Remembers the Anne-Girl

19. An Interlude

20. Gilbert Speaks

21. Roses of Yesterday

22. Spring and Anne Return to Green Gables

23. Paul Cannot Find the Rock People

24. Enter Jonas

25. Enter Prince Charming

26. Enter Christine

27. Mutual Confidences

28. A June Evening

29. Diana’s Wedding

30. Mrs. Skinner’s Romance

31. Anne to Philippa

32. Tea with Mrs. Douglas

33. “He Just Kept Coming and Coming”

34. John Douglas Speaks at Last

35. The Last Redmond Year Opens

36. The Gardners’ Call

37. Full-fledged B.A.’s

38. False Dawn

39. Deals with Weddings

40. A Book of Revelation

41. Love Takes Up the Glass of Time