Anne with an “E” (2017–)

Anne with an “E” (first broadcast on the CBC as Anne and referred to unofficially as Anne: The Series) is an episodic television series that is produced by Northwood Entertainment in association with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Created by Moira Walley-Beckett, the series stars Amybeth McNulty as Anne Shirley, Geraldine James as Marilla Cuthbert, Dalila Bela as Diana Barry, Lucas Jade Zumann as Gilbert Blythe, Aymeric Jett Montaz as Jerry Baynard, and R.H. Thomson as Matthew Cuthbert.

The first season aired in Canada on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation starting on 19 March 2017 as Anne; it became available for streaming on Netflix worldwide except Canada on 12 May 2017 as Anne with an “E” and in Canada in January 2018. The seven episodes of the first season were written by series creator Moira Walley-Beckett and directed by Niki Caro, David Evans, Paul Fox, Sandra Goldbacher, Patricia Rozema, Helen Shaver, and Amanda Tapping. Walley-Beckett is executive producer alongside Miranda de Pencier, Sally Catto, Elizabeth Bradley, Alex Sapot, Debra Hayward, and Alison Owen; Susan Murdoch is the producer, Patricia Curmi associate producer. The first season of Anne was released on DVD in Canada in November 2017. The titles of all seven episodes are quotations from Charlotte Brontë’s novel Jane Eyre.

The second season of ten episodes was released worldwide (except Canada) on Netflix on 6 July 2018 and has been airing on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation starting on 23 September 2018. The ten episodes of the second season are written by Moira Walley-Beckett, Jane Maggs, Shernold Edwards, Kathryn Borel, Jr., Amanda Fahey, and Naledi Jackson and directed by Helen Shaver, Paul Fox, Ken Girotti, Anne Wheeler, Norma Bailey, and Amanda Tapping. Walley-Beckett is executive producer alongside Miranda de Pencier, Debra Hayward, Alison Owen, and Ken Girotti; John Calvert is producer, Patricia Curmi associate producer, Jane Maggs and Shernold Edwards supervising producers, and Amanda Fahey co-producer. The titles of all ten episodes are quotations from George Eliot’s novel Middlemarch.

Official Synopsis

Anne is a coming-of-age story about an outsider who, against all odds and numerous challenges, fights for love and acceptance and for her place in the world. The series centers on a young orphaned girl in the late 1890s, who, after an abusive childhood spent in orphanages and the homes of strangers, is mistakenly sent to live with an elderly spinster and her aging brother. Over time, 13-year-old Anne will transform their lives and eventually the small town in which they live with her unique spirit, fierce intellect and brilliant imagination.

Regular Cast

Amybeth McNulty as Anne Shirley
Geraldine James as Marilla Cuthbert
Dalila Bela as Diana Barry
Lucas Jade Zumann as Gilbert Blythe
Aymeric Jett Montaz as Jerry Baynard
Corrine Koslo as Rachel Lynde (season 2)
Dalmar Abuzeid as Sebastian “Bash” Lacroix (season 2)
Cory Grüter-Andrew as Cole Mackenzie (season 2)
R.H. Thomson as Matthew Cuthbert

Recurring Cast

Ella Jonas Farlinger as Prissy Andrews
Deborah Grover as Josephine Barry
Jonathan Holmes as Mr. William Barry
Helen Johns as Mrs. Eliza Barry
Corrine Koslo as Rachel Lynde (season 1)
Christian Martyn as Billy Andrews
Kyla Matthews as Ruby Gillis
Miranda McKeon as Josie Pye
Lia Pappas-Kemps as Jane Andrews
Stephen Tracey as Mr. Phillips
Glenna Walters as Tillie Boulter


S2E10: The Growing Good of the World
S2E09: What We Have Been Makes Us What We Are
S2E08: Struggling against the Perception of Facts
S2E07: Memory Has as Many Moods as the Temper
S2E06: I Protest against Any Absolute Conclusion
S2E05: The Determining Acts of Her Life
S2E04: The Painful Eagerness of Unfed Hope
S2E03: The True Seeing Is Within
S2E02: Signs Are Small Measurable Things, but Interpretations Are Illimitable
S2E01: Youth Is the Season of Hope

S1E07: Wherever You Are Is My Home
S1E06: Remorse Is the Poison of Life
S1E05: Tightly Knotted to a Similar String
S1E04: An Inward Treasure Born
S1E03: But What Is So Headstrong as Youth?
S1E02: I Am No Bird, and No Net Ensnares Me
S1E01: Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny


Season 1: 2018 Canadian Screen Awards

Best Dramatic Series (Winner)

Best Lead Actress, Drama Series: Amybeth McNulty (Nominee)

Best Supporting Actress, Drama: Geraldine James (Nominee)

Best Supporting Actor, Drama: R.H. Thomson (Winner)

Best Guest Performance, Drama Series: Deborah Grover (“Remorse Is the Poison of Life”) (Nominee)

Best Direction, Drama Series: Niki Caro (“Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”) (Nominee)

Best Direction, Drama Series: Helen Shaver (“I Am No Bird, and No Net Ensnares Me”) (Nominee)

Best Writing, Drama Series: Moira Walley-Beckett (“I Am No Bird, and No Net Ensnares Me”) (Nominee)

Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction: Jean-François Campeau, Friday Myers and Andrew Berry (“I Am No Bird, and No Net Ensnares Me”) (Nominee)

Best Costume Design: Anne Dixon (“Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”) (Nominee)

Best Achievement in Casting: Stephanie Gorin (Nominee)

Best Original Music, Fiction: Amin Bhatia and Ari Posner (“Remorse Is the Poison of Life”) (Nominee)

Best Picture Editing, Drama: David Coulson (“Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”) (Nominee)