Emily Climbs

Emily Climbs is L.M. Montgomery’s fourteenth book, first published in September 1923 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). It is the second of three books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Emily Byrd Starr, preceded by Emily of New Moon (1923) and followed by Emily’s Quest (1927). Prior to the publication of Emily’s Quest, however, she published The Blue Castle (1926).

A television series based on Emily of New Moon and its sequels, starring Martha MacIsaac, Stephen McHattie, and Sheila McCarthy, was filmed in Prince Edward Island and aired between 1998 and 1999 and between 2002 and 2003.


“To ‘Pastor Felix’ in affectionate appreciation.”


1. Writing Herself Out

2. Salad Days

3. In the Watches of the Night

4. “As Ithers See Us”

5. Half a Loaf

6. Shrewsbury Beginnings

7. Pot-Pourri

8. Not Proven

9. A Supreme Moment

10. The Madness of an Hour

11. Heights and Hollows

12. At the Sign of the Haystack

13. Haven

14. The Woman Who Spanked the King

15. “The Thing That Couldn’t”

16. Driftwood

17. “If a Body Kiss a Body”

18. Circumstantial Evidence

19. “Airy Voices”

20. In the Old John House

21. Thicker Than Water

22. “Love Me, Love My Dog”

23. An Open Door

24. A Valley of Vision

25. April Love