Emily of New Moon

Emily of New Moon is L.M. Montgomery’s thirteen book, first published in August 1923 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). It is the first of three books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Emily Byrd Starr, followed by Emily Climbs (1925) and Emily’s Quest (1927). It was preceded by Rilla of Ingleside (1921), which Montgomery had vowed to be the last of the Anne books.

A television series based on Emily of New Moon and its sequels, starring Martha MacIsaac, Stephen McHattie, and Sheila McCarthy, was filmed in Prince Edward Island and aired between 1998 and 1999 and between 2002 and 2003.


“To Mr. George Boyd Macmillan / Alloa, Scotland / in recognition of a long and stimulating friendship.”


1. The House in the Hollow

2. A Watch in the Night

3. A Hop out of Kin

4. A Family Conclave

5. Diamond Cut Diamond

6. New Moon

7. The Book of Yesterday

8. Trial by Fire

9. A Special Providence

10. Growing Pains

11. Ilse

12. The Tansy Patch

13. A Daughter of Eve

14. Fancy Fed

15. Various Tragedies

16. Check for Miss Brownell

17. Living Epistles

18. Father Cassidy

19. Friends Again

20. By Aerial Post

21. “Romantic but not Comfortable”

22. Wyther Grange

23. Deals with Ghosts

24. A Different Kind of Happiness

25. “She Couldn’t Have Done It”

26. On the Bay Shore

27. The Vow of Emily

28. A Weaver of Dreams

29. Sacrilege

30. When the Curtain Lifted

31. Emily’s Great Moment