Magic for Marigold

Cover art for Magic for Marigold, published by McClelland and Stewart (Canada) and Frederick A. Stokes (USA).

Magic for Marigold is L.M. Montgomery’s seventeenth book, first published in October 1929 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). Focusing on Marigold Lesley, an imaginative girl growing up amid a large extended family, it was preceded by Emily’s Quest (1927) and followed by A Tangled Web (1931).


“To Nora in memory of a world that has passed away.”


1. What’s in a Name?

2. Sealed of the Tribe

3. April Promise

4. Marigold Goes A-visiting

5. The Door That Men Call Death

6. The Power of the Dog

7. Lost Laughter

8. “It”

9. A Lesley Christmas

10. The Bobbing of Marigold

11. A Counsel of Perfection

12. Marigold Entertains

13. A Ghost Is Laid

14. Bitterness of Soul

15. One Clear Call

16. One of Us

17. Not by Bread Alone

18. Red Ink or—?

19. How It Came to Pass

20. The Punishment of Billy

21. Her Chrism of Womanhood


L.M. Montgomery’s Personal Scrapbooks and Book Covers: Magic for Marigold