Menu Close

Anne of Green Gables (Seal Books, 1981)

This edition of Anne of Green Gables was published as a mass-market paperback by Seal Books (Toronto) in 1981. It is a nearly identical reprint of a similar edition published by Bantam Books (New York) in 1976. This was the first of several sets of editions of all twenty-two of Montgomery’s books published in the United States of America by Bantam Books and in Canada by Seal Books. A later identical edition with a photograph of Megan Follows from Sullivan Entertainment’s 1985 miniseries based on the novel appeared in 1987.

Anne of Green Gables } { Anne of Green Gables: Editions } { Seal Books } { 1980–1989 }

Cover of Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery (Seal Books, 1981)
Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery (Seal Books, 1981): title page
Cover and title page of the 1981 Seal Books edition of Anne of Green Gables (first printing, 1981). Cover artist unidentified.


L.M. Montgomery


Anne of Green Gables





Publisher Location



Seal Books

Publication Date


Format (physical medium, format, dimensions/trim, pagination)

Print, mass-market paperback, 7” x 4 3/8”, x + 309 + 1 pp.

Front Cover Tag

The first novel in the series that has delighted millions of young readers.

The most beloved, beguiling and timeless heroine in all of fiction

Back Cover Synopsis

“She’ll have to go back.”

The Cuthberts of Green Gables had decided to adopt an orphan—a nice sturdy boy to help Matthew with the farm chores. The orphanage sent a girl instead—a mischievous, talkative redhead who’d be no use at all. She would just have to go back. But the longer Anne was there, the more no one could imagine Green Gables without her.

The Anne Series

Delightful, unpredictable Anne Shirley has been charming readers of all ages, in every part of the world, for over half a century. A bestseller from the moment it was published, the series has allowed generations of children to grow up joyfully right along with Anne. Don’t miss Anne’s further adventures in: Anne of Avonlea [and] Anne of the Island[.]


(i) [Teaser]

“I’ll try and do anything and be anything you want, if you’ll only keep me.”

“Oh, please, Miss Cuthbert, won’t you tell me if you are going to send me away or not? I’ve tried to be patient all the morning, but I really feel that I cannot bear not knowing any longer. It’s a dreadful feeling. Please tell me.”

“Well,” said Marilla, unable to find any excuse for deferring her explanation any longer, “I suppose I might as well tell you. Matthew and I have decided to keep you—that is if you will try to be a good little girl and show yourself grateful. Why, child, whatever is the matter?”

“I’m crying,” said Anne in a tone of bewilderment. “I can’t think why. I’m glad as glad can be. I’m so happy. But can you tell me why I’m crying?”

(ii) [Author’s Books]

Bantam Books by L.M. Montgomery ¶ Ask your bookseller for the books you have missed [list includes AGG, AA, and AIs]

(iii) [Title Page, including epigraph]

(iv) [Copyright Page]

(v) [Dedication]

(vi) [Blank]

(vii–viii) Contents

(ix) [Half-Title Page]

(x) [Blank]

(1–309) Chapters 1–38

(n.pag.) About the Author

L. M. Montgomery was born in 1874 and spent her childhood on Prince Edward Island, Canada, living with her grandmother in an old farmhouse. As a child she wrote poems and stories and, at the age of twelve, won a short story contest sponsored by the Montreal Star. She attended Dalhousie University for a year, and while still in her teens, returned to Prince Edward Island to teach school. There she met and, in 1911, married the Reverend Ewan MacDonald [sic]. L. M. Montgomery’s first novel, Anne of Green Gables, was published in 1908. The book met with instantaneous success, and its heroine, Anne Shirley, was hailed by Mark Twain as “‘the most moving and delightful child of fiction since the immortal Alice.” The author received thousands of letters asking for more stories about Anne. In response she wrote Anne of Avonlea, Chronicles of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Willows, Anne’s House of Dreams and Anne of Ingleside. L. M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables series has remained a perennial favorite with readers of all ages around the world.

Copyright Statement

Copyright 1908 by L. C. Page & Company, Inc.

Copyright renewed 1935 by L. C. Page & Company, Inc. (now Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Inc.)

Printing History

L. C. Page edition published June 1908
68 printings through 1942

Grosset & Dunlap edition published December 1951

Literary Guild edition published June 1972

Bantam edition / August 1976
2nd printing / August 1976
3rd printing / January 1977
4th printing / July 1977
5th printing / November 1977
6th printing / June 1978
7th printing / December 1978
8th printing / September 1979
9th printing / December 1979
10th printing / April 1980
11th printing / January 1981
Bantam Skylark edition / February 1981
Seal edition / January 1981


Dedication and epigraph included.

Related Editions

Anne of Green Gables (Bantam Books, 1976): Identical text

Anne of Green Gables (Bantam Books, 1987): Bantam Classics reissue with identical text

Anne of Green Gables (Bantam Books, 1992): Reset edition, with new cover art




Copy of first printing in the site owner’s personal collection.

This page last updated on 5 January 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.