Menu Close

Anne of Green Gables (Chartwell Books, 2021)

This edition of Anne of Green Gables was published as a jacketed hardcover by Chartwell Books, an imprint of Quarto Publishing Group (New York), in 2021, as part of its Chartwell Classics series. It reproduces the illustrations by M.A. Claus and W.A.J. Claus that appeared in the original 1908 edition and includes a two-page chronology of key dates under the title “The Life and Times of L.M. Montgomery.” An identical edition had been published by Race Point Publishing, another imprint of Quarto Publishing Group, in 2016.

Anne of Green Gables } { Anne of Green Gables: Editions } { Quarto Publishing Group } { Editions: 2020–2029 }

Cover art for Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery (Chartwell Books, 2021), depicting a young Caucasian girl, her back turned away, sporting thick orange braids and wearing a period dress and a brown sailor hat, against a background that resembles nineteenth-century wallpaper.
Cover of Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery (Chartwell Books, 2021). Cover image courtesy of Quarto Books. Cover design by Laura Klynstra.


L.M. Montgomery


Anne of Green Gables




United States of America

Publisher Location

New York


Chartwell Books, an imprint of Quarto Publishing Group

Publication Date



Chartwell Classics


Print, jacketed hardcover, 7 1/2” x 5 3/4”, x + 286 pp.


M.A. Claus and W.A.J. Claus

Dust Jacket Flap Copy

Originally published in 1908, Anne of Green Gables follows the adventures of the spirited Anne Shirley. When farm-owning siblings Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert want to adopt a boy to help them around their farm, the orphanage sends them the active, imaginative, and red-headed Anne instead. Despite their initial reservations, Anne becomes the heart of the family, community, and generations of readers.

L.M. Montgomery (1874–1942) was a Canadian writer, born on Prince Edward Island. In 1908, she published Anne of Green Gables, her most successful work and the start of a series of novels. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels, 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays. Many of her stories are set on Prince Edward Island. In 1935, Montgomery was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire for her contributions to literature.

Back Cover Copy

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” —L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables


(i) [Half-Title Page]

(ii) [Blank Page]

(iii) [Title Page]

(iv) [Copyright Page]

(v–vii) Contents

(viii) [Blank Page]

(ix) List of Illustrations

(x) [Epigraph]

(1–284) Chapters 1–38

(285–86) The Life and Times of L.M. Montgomery [Chronology]




Epigraph included; dedication omitted.


Copy of first printing in site owner’s personal collection.

This page last updated on 16 March 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.