Menu Close

Anne’s House of Dreams

Cover art for Anne’s House of Dreams, published by McClelland, Goodchild and Stewart (Canada) and Frederick A. Stokes Company (USA) in 1917.

Anne’s House of Dreams is L.M. Montgomery’s ninth book, first published in August 1917 by McClelland, Goodchild, and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). It is the fifth of eleven books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Anne Shirley Blythe, preceded by Anne of Green Gables (1908), Anne of Avonlea (1909), Chronicles of Avonlea (1912), and Anne of the Island (1915), and followed by Rainbow Valley (1919), Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920), Rilla of Ingleside (1921), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Anne of Ingleside (1939), and The Blythes Are Quoted (2009). It was also preceded by The Watchman and Other Poems (1916).

This is the first novel by L.M. Montgomery to be published by joint arrangement with McClelland, Goodchild, and Stewart (now McClelland and Stewart) in Canada and the Frederick A. Stokes Company in the United States, although her book of poems The Watchman and Other Poems was also published by a similar arrangement. After Anne and Gilbert are finally married at Green Gables, they settle sixty miles away in Glen St. Mary, where they soon become acquainted with their new neighbours: Captain Jim, who keeps the lighthouse; Miss Cornelia Bryant, who is outspoken about her hatred of men; and Leslie Moore, into whose troubled life Anne and Gilbert intervene. Although still set in the final years of the nineteenth century, the novel very much reflects the time period in which it was published, with the shadow of the Great War looming over Montgomery as she wrote.

Blog Posts } { Editions }


                                                     “Our kin
Have built them temples, and therein
pray to the gods we know; and dwell
in little houses lovable.”
Rupert Brooke


in memory of the
olden time


I. In the Garret of Green Gables

II. The House of Dreams

III. The Land of Dreams Among

IV. The First Bride of Green Gables

V. The Home Coming

VI. Captain Jim

VII. The Schoolmaster’s Bride

VIII. Miss Cornelia Bryant Comes to Call

IX. An Evening at Four Winds Point

X. Leslie Moore

XI. The Story of Leslie Moore

XII. Leslie Comes Over

XIII. A Ghostly Evening

XIV. November Days

XV. Christmas at Four Winds

XVI. New Year’s Eve at the Light

XVII. A Four Winds Winter

XVIII. Spring Days

XIX. Dawn and Dusk

XX. Lost Margaret

XXI. Barriers Swept Away

XXII. Miss Cornelia Arranges Matters

XXIII. Owen Ford Comes

XXIV. The Life-Book of Captain Jim

XXV. The Writing of the Book

XXVI. Owen Ford’s Confession

XXVII. On the Sand-Bar

XXVIII. Odds and Ends

XXIX. Gilbert and Anne Disagree

XXX. Leslie Decides

XXXI. The Truth Makes Free

XXXII. Miss Cornelia Discusses the Affair

XXXIII. Leslie Returns

XXXIV. The Ship o’ Dreams Comes to Harbour

XXXV. Politics at Four Winds

XXXVI. Beauty for Ashes

XXXVII. Miss Cornelia Makes a Startling Announcement

XXXVIII. Red Roses

XXXIX. Captain Jim Crosses the Bar

XL. Farewell to the House of Dreams

This page last updated on 5 January 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.