Menu Close

Aunt Abigail’s Beau

Aunt Abigail’s Beau is the seventh of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Amy Jo Cooper and based on the episode of the same name written by Heather Conkie, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1991 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1992. It was preceded by Conversions and followed by Malcolm and the Baby.

From the Back Cover

When Aunt Abigail’s old flame, the dashing Malcolm MacEwan, suddenly reappears in Avonlea to ask for her hand in marriage, she accepts immediately—only to feel her resolve begin to waver. It will be up to Sara and Felicity—Cupid’s earth-bound partners—to ensure that love and romance prevail!

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Reviews by Jean Free, Kay Kerman, and Jean Stringam.


Author: Amy Jo Cooper
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1991 (Canada); 1992 (USA)
Pagination: iv + 105 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647039-4 (Canada), 0-553-48033-3 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.