Menu Close

Tag: A Tangled Web

Montgomery Review 11: A Tangled Web

A Tangled Web, by L.M. MontgomeryL.M. Montgomery’s eighteenth book, A Tangled Web (published in 1931), marks the author’s attempt at modernism, complete with this unusual cover! This book, about a group of adults competing for the inheritance of a beloved but ugly family heirloom, was published in the United Kingdom as Aunt Becky Began It.

A Tangled Web is a decided change from L.M. Montgomery’s usual style of romance so much beloved by her large Canadian public. Though the action takes place in the usual delightful surroundings of small town life in lovely Prince Edward Island, the author has given us in flowing language a robust and versatile clan saga in which a vast number of Darks and Penhallows mingle in a kaleidoscopic mixture of colors and variety. . . . Tragedies, romances, quarrels, comic incidents and ridiculous situations jostle thick and fast in the many pages of the book, and the author is to be congratulated on the skill with which she differentiates the individual characters. Prince Edward Island lies before us in all the beauty of color, sound and surging shores, and the wealth of local color and the quaint personalities of village life are a charm alike to sophisticated and simple readers. The book should prove a popular addition to every bookshelf. —The Toronto Telegram

Reissues in 2009

The following reissues have been scheduled for 2009:

  • Anne . . . avant la maison aux pignons verts, French-language translation of Before Green Gables by Budge Wilson, translated by Dominique Fortier, will be published by Éditions du Trécarré (Montreal) in January 2009;
  • Before Green Gables, by Budge Wilson, released in paperback by Penguin Canada and by G.P. Putnam’s Sons (U.S.) in February 2009;
  • A Tangled Web, part of the Voyageur Classics: Books that Explore Canada series by Dundurn Press, with introduction by Benjamin Lefebvre, March 2009;
  • Emily Climbs, part of the revamped New Canadian Library series by McClelland & Stewart, with afterword by Jane Urquhart (reissue of 1989 edition), August 2009;
  • Emily’s Quest, part of the revamped New Canadian Library series by McClelland & Stewart, with afterword by P.K. Page (reissue of 1989 edition), August 2009.