Menu Close

But When She Was Bad . . .

But When She Was Bad . . . is the twenty-third of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Marlene Matthews and based on the episode entitled “But When She Was Bad . . . She Was Horrid” (Part 1) also by Marlene Matthews, it was published in Canada by HarperCollins and in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1994. It was preceded by Felix and Blackie and followed by Double Trouble.

From the Back Cover

When Sara Stanley and Jo Pitts meet, Felix King does a double take. “You two could be twins!” he says. But Felix’s innocent observation brings a mischievous glint to Sara’s eyes. Desperate to escape the clutches of her overbearing Aunt Hetty, Sara convinces Jo, a street wise orphan, to switch places with her. Meanwhile, Sara gets Gus Pike to take her to the mainland—leaving a confused Hetty to deal with the uncontrollable new Sara Stanley. But the plan backfires. When Gus suddenly disappears, Sara finds herself face-to-face with Jo Pitts’ dangerous past.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Author: Marlene Matthews
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1994
Pagination: iv + 122 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647421-7 (Canada), 0-553-48122-3 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.