Menu Close

Double Trouble

Double Trouble is the twenty-fourth of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Marlene Matthews and based on the episode entitled “But When She Was Bad . . . She Was Horrid” (Part 2) also by Marlene Matthews, it was published in Canada by HarperCollins and in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1994. It was preceded by But When She Was Bad . . . and followed by A Dark and Stormy Night.

From the Back Cover

When Sara Stanley and Jo Pitts changed places, Sara didn’t count on Jo’s criminal past. Unable to convince her captors that she is not Jo Pitts, Sara finds herself locked in a shack, let out only to pick pockets on the mainland docks. Meanwhile, desperate to understand why her darling Sara is acting so strangely, Hetty King employs all sorts of hilarious tactics to control her niece. But the new Sara who steals, lies, cheats and continually burps, has Hetty King at her wits end. Will the real Sara Stanley ever make it home before it’s too late?

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Author: Marlene Matthews
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1994
Pagination: iv + 120 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647426-8 (Canada), 0-553-48123-1 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.