Menu Close

Felicity’s Challenge

Felicity’s Challenge is the ninth of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Gail Hamilton and based on the episode of the same name by Lori Fleming, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1991 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1992. It was preceded by Malcolm and the Baby and followed by The Hope Chest of Arabella King.

From the Back Cover

As the annual Harvest Ball draws nigh, Felicity King’s competitive spirit cannot be contained. She determines to win not only the crown as Harvest queen, but a secret wager to transform Clemmie Ray into a princess at the Ball—a wager which, her cousin Sara warns, may cost her more than her prized tiara.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Reviews by Lisa Arsenault, Kay Kerman, and Jean Stringam.


AuthorGail Hamilton
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1991 (Canada); 1992 (USA)
Pagination: iv + 121 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647042-4 (Canada), 0-553-48035-9 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.