Menu Close

Further Chronicles of Avonlea

Further Chronicles of Avonlea is L.M. Montgomery’s eleventh book, first published in April 1920 by L.C. Page and Company. It is the seventh of eleven books to feature Montgomery’s protagonist Anne Shirley Blythe, preceded by Anne of Green Gables (1908), Anne of Avonlea (1909), Chronicles of Avonlea (1912), Anne of the Island (1915), Anne’s House of Dreams (1917), and Rainbow Valley (1919), and followed by Rilla of Ingleside (1921), Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), Anne of Ingleside (1939), and The Blythes Are Quoted (2009).

Although it consists of fifteen stories that were not chosen for inclusion in Chronicles of Avonlea (1912), Montgomery agreed to this publication reluctantly at the end of a lawsuit in which she sold to her publisher all remaining rights to her first seven books for approximately US$18,000, under the condition that there by no mention of Anne Shirley in the book nor any depiction of her on its cover. After she had revised the stories to remove mentions of Anne and descriptive sections that she had used in her post-1912 books, Page announced their intention to publish the 1912 versions that they had in their possession, even though this violated the terms of their agreement. Montgomery’s legal battle with Page was not settled until 1928, but in the end she was victorious and the bootleg book was taken off the market. It was republished in the mid-1950s, however, and remains in print today.

This book partly formed the basis for the popular television series Road to Avonlea (1990–1996), as did The Story Girl, Chronicles of Avonlea, and The Golden Road.

Editions }


I. Aunt Cynthia’s Persian Cat

II. The Materializing of Cecil

III. Her Father’s Daughter

IV. Jane’s Baby

V. The Dream-Child

VI. The Brother Who Failed

VII. The Return of Hester

VIII. The Little Brown Book of Miss Emily

IX. Sara’s Way

X. The Son of His Mother

XI. The Education of Betty

XII. In Her Selfless Mood

XIII. The Conscience Case of David Bell

XIV. Only a Common Fellow

XV. Tannis of the Flats

This page last updated on 5 January 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.