Menu Close

Nothing Endures but Change

Nothing Endures but Change is the eleventh of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Gail Hamilton and based on the episode of the same name by Heather Conkie, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1991 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1993. It was preceded by The Hope Chest of Arabella King and followed by Sara’s Homecoming.

From the Back Cover

What would Avonlea be like without Sara Stanley? The King family certainly doesn’t want to find out. When Blair Stanley arrives from Montreal to take his daughter home for good, sparks fly as he and Aunt Hetty, his old enemy, fight over her. Caught between the people she loves most, Sara decies to run away, hoping her disappearance will force them to forget their differences, and help her to make the most difficult decision of her life.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Review by Lori McLeod.


AuthorGail Hamilton
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1991 (Canada); 1993 (USA)
Pagination: vi + 122 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647044-0 (Canada), 0-553-48037-5 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.