Menu Close

Of Corsets and Secrets and True True Love

Of Corsets and Secrets and True True Love is the fourteenth of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Fiona McHugh and based on the episode of the same name by Marlene Matthews, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1992 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1993. It was preceded by Aunt Hetty’s Ordeal and followed by Old Quarrels, Old Love.

From the Back Cover

Rachel Lynde’s toothache, which she firmly believes will kill her, soon becomes the least of her woes, as Marilla offers Green Gables as home to two adorable but rambunctious orphans. To make matters even worse, intrepid journalist Olivia King, with Sara’s assistance, uncovers a youthful romance that Rachel has kept secret for over 25 years!

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Reviews by Jean Free, Constance Hall, and Marie Mendenhall.


AuthorFiona McHugh
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1992 (Canada); 1993 (USA)
Pagination: iv + 122 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647156-0 (Canada), 0-553-48040-5 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.