Menu Close

Quarantine at Alexander Abraham’s

Quarantine at Alexander Abraham’s is the fifth of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Fiona McHugh and based on the episode “The Quarantine at Alexander Abraham’s” written by Heather Conkie, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1991 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1992. It was preceded by The Materializing of Duncan McTavish and followed by Conversions.

From the Back Cover

As Sunday school teacher Rachel Lynde sets out to Alexander Abraham’s farm in search of a truant pupil, so too does Felix (with the help of his sisters and cousin Sara) to warn his schoolmate of her impending arrival. But Felix, Sara and Mrs. Lynde not only find themselves thrown together in Mr. Abraham’s parlor, but quarantined too—with the old curmudgeon, Alexander Abraham.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Reviews by Pat Steenbergen and Jean Stringam.


Author: Fiona McHugh
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1991 (Canada); 1992 (USA)
Pagination: iv + 124 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647038-6 (Canada), 0-553-48031-6 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.