Menu Close

The Calamitous Courting of Hetty King

The Calamitous Courting of Hetty King is the twenty-eighth of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Fiona McHugh and based on the episode of the same name by Marlene Matthews, it was published by Bantam Skylark in 1995. It was preceded by Vows of Silence and followed by Old Friends, Old Wounds.

From the Back Cover

Romance is in the air as the Avonlea winter fair approaches. Felicity King is on tenterhooks as she waits for Gus Pike to ask her to the big event. And travelling skate salesman Wally Higgins finds in Hetty King the woman of his dreams. But the romantic mood changes when Aunt Hetty must take desperate measures to dissuade her enthusiastic new suitor and Felicity’s impatience becomes unbearable for all the King clan. Determined to set Cupid on the right path, Sara Stanley intervenes with a hope to solve these romantic dilemmas before it’s too late.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” continue—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


AuthorFiona McHugh
Country: USA
Publisher: Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1995
Pagination: iv + 122 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-553-48127-4
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.