Menu Close

The Journey Begins

The Journey Begins is the first of twenty-nine titles in the Road to Avonlea storybook series, “based on the Sullivan Films productions adapted from the novels of Lucy Maud Montgomery.” Written by Dennis Adair and Janet Rosenstock and based on the episode of the same name by Heather Conkie, it was first published in Canada by HarperCollins in 1991 and reprinted in the U.S. by Bantam Skylark in 1992. It was followed by The Story Girl Earns Her Name.

From the Back Cover

Sara Stanley’s life is turned upside down when her adored father is threatened with financial ruin. To protect her from scandal during this crisis, he determines to send her and her Nanny Louisa from their Montreal mansion to Prince Edward Island—her late mother’s birthplace, and home to a family she has never known. Thus begins Sara’s journey, on the road to Avonlea.

Adapted from the award-winning, internationally acclaimed television series, the magical adventures of “The Story Girl” begin again—in the spirit and tradition of Lucy Maud Montgomery—for a new generation of young readers.


Reviews by Jean Free, Constance Hall, Anne-Louise Mahoney, and Bronwyn Weaver.


AuthorsDennis Adair and Janet Rosenstock
Country: Canada/USA
Publishers: HarperCollins (Toronto); Bantam Skylark (New York)
Date: 1991 (Canada); 1992 (USA)
Pagination: iv + 138 pp.
Format: Trade paperback
Trim: 7.58″ x 5.25″
ISBN: 0-00-647033-5 (Canada), 0-553-40575-6 (USA)
Series: Road to Avonlea

This page last updated on 13 June 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.