Pat of Silver Bush

Pat of Silver Bush is L.M. Montgomery’s nineteenth book, first published in August 1933 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). It follows Patricia Gardiner, a girl whose fierce devotion to her home makes her reluctant to accept any kind of change, from the ages of six to eighteen; its sequel, Mistress Pat: A Novel of Silver Bush (1935), continues the story of Pat into her early thirties. It was preceded by A Tangled Web (1931) and followed by Courageous Women (1934).


“God gave all men all earth to love
   But, since our hearts are small,
Ordained for each spot should be
   Beloved over all.”


Alec and May
The Secret Field


I. Introduces Pat

II. Introduces Silver Bush

III. Concerning Parsley Beds

IV. Sunday’s Child

V. “What’s in a Name?”

VI. What Price Weddings?

VII. Here Comes the Bride

VIII. Aftermath

IX. A Day to Spend

X. A Maiden All Forlorn

XI. Dinner Is Served

XII. Black Magic

XIII. Company Manners

XIV. The Shadow of Fear

XV. Elizabeth Happens

XVI. The Rescue of Pepper

XVII. Judy Puts Her Foot Down

XVIII. Under a Cloud

XIX. “Am I So Ugly, Judy?”

XX. Shores of Romance

XXI. What Would Judy Think of It?

XXII. Three Daughters of One Race

XXIII. Mock Sunshine

XXIV. Ashes to Ashes

XXV. His Way Is on the Sea

XXVI. Gentleman Tom Sits on the Stairs

XXVII. Glamour of Youth

XXVIII. Even as You and I

XXIX. April Magic

XXX. One Shall Be Taken

XXXI. Lost Fragrance

XXXII. Exile

XXXIII. Fancy’s Fool

XXXIV. “Let’s Pretend”

XXXV. Shadow and Sunshine

XXXVI. Balm in Gilead

XXXVII. Winnie’s Wedding

XXXVIII. Laughter and Tears

XXXIX. The Chatelaine of Silver Bush