Menu Close

L.M. Montgomery Readathon

Curated by Andrea McKenzie and Benjamin Lefebvre, the L.M. Montgomery Readathon is a Facebook group that invites conversation about Montgomery’s work from her worldwide readership. Posts include discussion questions, details about Montgomery’s life and times (including fashion and technology), allusions to previous works of literature, book covers, and information about translations and recent reprint editions. Through reading Rilla of Ingleside (May–June 2020), Jane of Lantern Hill (July–September 2020), The Blue Castle (September 2020–February 2021), Chronicles of Avonlea (March–May 2021), Emily of New Moon (June–August 2021), and Emily Climbs (September–December 2021) in a virtual group setting, we’re learning once again how Montgomery’s books have the power to bring people together in good times and in uncertain times. Anyone who enjoys L.M. Montgomery’s books is welcome to join, and group members can read, comment, ask questions, post favourite quotations, and listen.

Readathon Blog Posts } { Readathon Site }

L.M. Montgomery Readathon

Reading Schedule for Emily Climbs

Monday, September 20—Chapter 1: Writing Herself Out

Thursday, September 23—Chapter 2: Salad Days

Monday, September 27—Chapter 3: In the Watches of the Night

Thursday, September 30—Chapter 4: “As Ithers See Us”

Monday, October 4—Chapter 5: Half a Loaf

Thursday, October 7—Chapter 6: Shrewsbury Beginnings

Monday, October 11—Chapter 7: Pot-Pourri

Thursday, October 14—Chapter 8: Not Proven

Monday, October 18—Chapter 9: A Supreme Moment

Thursday, October 21—Chapter 10: The Madness of an Hour

Monday, October 25—Chapter 11: Heights and Hollows

Thursday, October 28—Chapter 12: At the Sign of the Haystack

Monday, November 1—Chapter 13: Haven

Thursday, November 4—Chapter 14: The Woman Who Spanked the King

Monday, November 8—Chapter 15: “The Thing That Couldn’t”

Thursday, November 11—Chapter 16: Driftwood

Monday, November 15—Chapter 17: “If a Body Kiss a Body”

Thursday, November 18—Chapter 18: Circumstantial Evidence

Monday, November 22—Chapter 19: “Airy Voices”

Thursday, November 25—Chapter 20: In the Old John House

Monday, November 29—Chapter 21: Thicker Than Water

Thursday, December 2—Chapter 22: “Love Me, Love My Dog”

Monday, December 6—Chapter 23: An Open Door

Thursday, December 9—Chapter 24: A Valley of Vision

Monday, December 13—Chapter 25: April Love