Menu Close

L.M. Montgomery Readathon

Curated by Andrea McKenzie and Benjamin Lefebvre, the L.M. Montgomery Readathon is a Facebook group that invites conversation about Montgomery’s work from her worldwide readership. Posts include discussion questions, details about Montgomery’s life and times (including fashion and technology), allusions to previous works of literature, book covers, and information about translations and recent reprint editions. Through reading Rilla of Ingleside (May–June 2020), Jane of Lantern Hill (July–September 2020), The Blue Castle (September 2020–February 2021), Chronicles of Avonlea (March–May 2021), Emily of New Moon (June–August 2021), Emily Climbs (September–December 2021), and The Story Girl (January–April 2021) in a virtual group setting, we’re learning once again how Montgomery’s books have the power to bring people together in good times and in uncertain times. Anyone who enjoys L.M. Montgomery’s books is welcome to join, and group members can read, comment, ask questions, post favourite quotations, and listen.

Readathon Blog Posts } { Readathon Site }

L.M. Montgomery Readathon

Reading Schedule for The Story Girl

Monday, 10 January 2022: Chapter I. The Home of Our Fathers

Thursday, 13 January 2022: Chapter II. A Queen of Hearts

Monday, 17 January 2022: Chapter III. Legends of the Old Orchard

Thursday, 20 January 2022: Chapter IV. The Wedding Veil of the Proud Princess

Monday, 24 January 2022: Chapter V. Peter Goes to Church

Thursday, 27 January 2022: Chapter VI. The Mystery of Golden Milestone

Monday, 31 January 2022: Chapter VII. How Betty Sherman Won a Husband

Thursday, 3 February 2022: Chapter VIII. A Tragedy of Childhood

Monday, 7 February 2022: Chapter IX. Magic Seed

Thursday, 10 January 2022: Chapter X. A Daughter of Eve

Monday, 14 February 2022: Chapter XI. The Story Girl Does Penance

Thursday, 17 February 2022: Chapter XII. The Blue Chest of Rachel Ward

Monday, 21 February 2022: Chapter XIII. An Old Proverb with a New Meaning

Thursday, 24 February 2022: Chapter XIV. Forbidden Fruit

Monday, 28 February 2022: Chapter XV. A Disobedient Brother

Thursday, 3 March 2022: Chapter XVI. The Ghostly Bell

Monday, 7 March 2022: Chapter XVII. The Proof of the Pudding

Thursday, 10 March 2022: Chapter XVIII. How Kissing Was Discovered

Monday, 14 March 2022: Chapter XIX. A Dread Prophecy

Thursday, 17 March 2022: Chapter XX. The Judgment Sunday

Monday, 21 March 2022: Chapter XXI. Dreamers of Dreams

Thursday, 24 March 2022: Chapter XXII. The Dream Books

Monday, 28 March 2022: Chapter XXIII. Such Stuff as Dreams Are Made On

Thursday, 31 March 2022: Chapter XXIV. The Bewitchment of Pat

Monday, 4 April 2022: Chapter XXV. A Cup of Failure

Thursday, 7 April 2022: Chapter XXVI. Peter Makes an Impression

Monday, 11 April 2022: Chapter XXVII. The Ordeal of Bitter Apples

Thursday, 14 April 2022: Chapter XXVIII. The Tale of the Rainbow Bridge

Monday, 18 April 2022: Chapter XXIX. The Shadow Feared of Man

Thursday, 21 April 2022: Chapter XXX. A Compound Letter

Monday, 25 April 2022: Chapter XXXI. On the Edge of Light and Dark

Thursday, 28 April 2022: Chapter XXXII. The Opening of the Blue Chest



This page last updated on 31 December 2021. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.