Menu Close

A Tangled Web

A Tangled Web is L.M. Montgomery’s eighteenth book, first published in October 1931 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). The book begins when Aunt Becky Dark, matriarch of the extended Dark–Penhallow clan, gathers her numerous family members together before her death to announce her plans for the inheritance of an ugly but much coveted jug; after her death, a number of characters make abrupt changes in their lives and their habits in the hopes of being chosen as the jug’s new owner. This novel was preceded by Magic for Marigold (1929) and followed by Pat of Silver Bush (1933).

A Tangled Web was published in the United Kingdom under the title Aunt Becky Began It.


my good friends
Mr. and Mrs. Fred W. Wright
in memory of
a certain week of laughter


I. Aunt Becky’s Levee

II. Wheels within Wheels

III. Midsummer Madness

IV. The Moving Finger

V. Blindly Wise

VI. Finally, Brethren

Published on 2 August 2008; last updated on 18 February 2024. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.