Menu Close

Jane of Lantern Hill

Jane of Lantern Hill, by L.M. Montgomery

Jane of Lantern Hill is L.M. Montgomery’s twenty-third book, first published in August 1937 by McClelland and Stewart (Toronto) and the Frederick A. Stokes Company (New York). Set in Toronto and in Prince Edward Island, it depicts Jane Stuart’s attempt to reunite her estranged parents in spite of years of interference and misunderstanding. It was preceded by Anne of Windy Poplars (1936) and followed by Anne of Ingleside (1939).

The book formed the basis of Kevin Sullivan’s telefilm Lantern Hill (1990), which starred Mairon Bennett, Sam Waterston, Sarah Polley, and Colleen Dewhurst.

Blog posts } { Editions } { Literary Allusions }


To the Memory of
the charming affectionate comrade
of fourteen years


The book consists of forty-three untitled chapters.

This page last updated on 4 February 2022. Please contact the site owner with additions, corrections, questions, and suggestions.